Recent Tweets around us


CAB Golden Jubilee Celebrations. The then Hony Treasurer Jagmohan Dalmiya donates blood in the first Blood Donation Camp organized by CAB on its Foundation Day as the then Hony Secretary B.N.Dutt looks on.

March 1962. The Indian team was touring the West Indies. After the first two Tests, the Indians were playing a colony game at Barbados. The Indian captain Nari Contractor was hit on the skull when he got behind the line to play a lifting delivery from the Caribbean speedster Charlie Griffith. Contractor had to be operated upon by a surgeon who had to be specially flown in from New York. He required a considerable quantity of blood for survival. The West Indies captain Sir Frank Worrell took the initiative and the players of the two teams as well as others donated blood for Contractor. Though the Indian captain never played Test cricket again, he survived.

It was so long ago. But even today, the Indians have not forgotten Sir Frank’s act of benevolence. He represented every thing that the glorious game of cricket stood for. Yet, it was irony of fate that this great gentleman cricketer met an untimely end in March 1967, as a result of leukemia.

The Foundation Day of the CAB is celebrated on 3 February every year. Since 1981, the CAB had decided to salute the great soul and its Foundation Day is observed as “Sir Frank Worrell Day”. A Blood Donation Camp is organized in the CAB premises as well as in the Districts. Nearly 2,000 persons donate the invaluable drops of life every year. Fruits and flowers are also distributed to the ailing patients of Dr. B.C. Roy Memorial Hospital for Child in Kolkata.

Every year, the blood donors are awarded certificates duly signed by eminent cricketers of repute. The yearly statistics of blood donors in the Blood Donation Camp organized by the Association since 1981 are:

Former Indian Captain Nari Contractor donating those Valuable droplets of life in 1981. That in fact, saved his life at Barbados in March 1962.

Year Name of the Signatory No. of Donors
1981 Nariman J Contractor 446
1982 Don Bradman and Ian Botham 956
1983 Imran Khan 602
1984 Sunil Gavaskar 757
1985 Kapil Dev Nikhan 752
1986 Pankaj Roy 604
1987 Polly Umrigar 801
1988 Arun Lal 1016
1989 Bishan Singh Bedi 903
1990 Ajit Wadekar 790
1991 Gundappa Biswanath 851
1992 Mustaq Ali 969
1993 D. B. Deodhar 829
1994 Vijay Hazare 832
1995 Lala Amarnath 673
1996 Clyde Walcott 804
1997 Mansur Ali Khan Pataudi 962
1998 Ravi Shastri 718
1999 B. S. Chandra Sekhar 834
2000 Sir Garfield Sobers 1991*
2001 Tony Grieg 1698*
2002 Rev. Wesley Hall 1607*
2003 E. A. S. Prasanna 1344*
2004 Greg Chappell 1511*
2005 John Wright 1747*
2006 Sourav Ganguly 1264*
2007 Steve Waugh 1279*
2008 Anil Kumble & Chuni Goswami 1098*
2009 Mike Brearley 1066*
2010 Dr. Ali Bacher 1126*
2011 Sanath Jayasuriya 1763*
2012 Richie Benaud 1433*
2013 S. Venkataraghavan 1483*
2014 Mr. Brain Lara 1657*
2015 Mr. Rahul Dravid 2019*
2016 Mr. Yuvraj Singh 2024*
2017 Mr. V.V.S. Laxman 1777*
2018 Mr. Sachin Tendulkar 1935*
2019 . 1682*
2020 Rohit Sharma 1961*
2021 Jhulan Goswami 1480*
2022 Dilip Doshi 463

Copyright © 2013  The Cricket Association Of Bengal. All Rights Reserved. Designed By Ascon