Players Details

Fixture & Results


Shreevats hands Bengal advantage
8th December 2016
Riding on an unbeaten double hundred by Shreevats Goswami (225), and a last wicket partnership of 92 runs, Bengal posted 474 for 9 in the first innings, before declaring and reducing Madhya Pradesh 19 for 1 to end the second day’s play of a Group-A Ranji Trophy match at Airforce Complex Ground in New Delhi today.
Resuming on the overnight score of 185 for 4, Bengal added 17 runs this morning before losing their first wicket of the day. Abhimanyu Eswaran was out 80, reducing Bengal to 202 for 5.
However, Shreevats kept on continuing, making his bat talk, he went on building partnerships with the tailenders, making sure that Bengal ends the day in a comfortable position.
Pragyan Ojha (32), V. P. Singh (24) played a good hand with Goswami in the end, adding some valuable runs to the Bengal total.
The last wicket partnership of 92 runs between, Shreevats Goswami and Sayan Ghosh helped Bengal reach a convincing total of 474 for 9.
Among the bowlers, Puneet Datey returned with figures 4 for 105. He was backed by, Chandrakant Sakure, who took 3 wickets.
Coming out to bat to the fag end of the day, Madhya Pradesh lost one wicket getting down to 19 for 1. The only wicket taker for Bengal remained Ashoke Dinda.
Trailing Bengal by 456 runs, at stumps, Mukul Raghav (5) and Rajat Patidar (13) are batting for Madhya Pradesh.
On the other hand, here in the Eden Gardens, Kolkata, Haryana ended the day’s play 186 for 4, leading Tripura by 239 runs.
Commencing the day on 70 for 4, Tripura lost wickets at a regular interval, before they were bundled for 178 within 58 overs.
The only player who gave a fight was S.K.Patel scoring 102 off 151 balls. H. V Patel of Haryana remained the highest wicket taker, taking 5 for 27.
Haryana made a good start to the second essay, with a first wicket partnership of 103 runs, but they lost few wickets later in the day getting reduced to 186 for 4 at the end.
N. Saini score 104 off 117 balls and remained the highest scorer for his side, followed by S. Rohilla, who scored 47 off 63.