Players Details

Fixture & Results


Bengal fight back a draw
2nd December 2016
Bengal paid heavy for the batting debacle in the first innings returning home with one solitary point from their match against Mumbai at the Municipal Stadium in Nagpur. With the exception of the first three sessions on the opening day, Bengal never lost control of the game, but could not eke out a result as a resolute Mumbai forced a draw with a stubborn 203 for 6 in their second innings.
Earlier, Bengal innings folded up within 10 minutes in the morning for 437, setting Mumbai a target of 308 to win. The Bengal pace battery led by Ashoke Dinda came out with purpose rocking Mumbai top order with a spell of hostile fast bowling that saw them being reduced to 5 for 67 at one stage. Ashoke Dinda was again the bowler skipper Manoj Tiwary could look up to for delivering.
He did not disappoint taking Kaustabh P, Shreyas Iyer and J G Bista within the first six overs. With Mukhesh Kumar picking up Surya Kumar Yadav and Pragyan Ojha making quick work of A P Tare, Mumbai looked to fold up in hurry.
However, a 112 run fifth wicket partnership between Shubhan Ranjane and Abhishek Nayar saw Mumbai recover and push the game towards a draw. Abhishek was stumped by Goswami off Dinda for 51, but not before Mumbai was ensured 3 points from the tie.
"We tried our best but at the end they took away 3 points. Two more matches now to go, and we need to play well there. Initially when we took three wickets it looked the match has swung very much in our favour, but then they batted well to repair the lose,” said Skipper Manoj Tiwary.
Bengal will be playing their next match against Madhya Pradesh in New Delhi starting from December 7.
U-16 Vijay Merchant Trophy
In the under 16 Vijay Merchant Meet, Bengal enforced a follow-on over Odisha today here at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata. After being bowled out for 124 in first innings chasing Bengal’s 312, Odisha finished the day 13 for 1 in the second essay.
Starting the day 284 for 7, Bengal added 28 runs more to the total before they were all out for 312.
Coming out to bowl, Bengal bowlers looked confident, making the ball talk they wrapped up the opposition’s first innings for 124 in 66.2 overs.
Prayas Ray Burman remained the highest wicket taker with figures 4 for 28 in 13 overs. Among the others, Srijan Maiti, Anish Biswas and Karan got 2 wickets each.

Sayan Banerjee