Players Details

Fixture & Results


Bengal push to 190 on a slow track
13th November 2016
On a slow track Bengal reached 190 for 3 to end day one in a Group-A Ranji Trophy match against Tamil Nadu at the Madhavrao Scindia Cricket Ground in Rajkot.
Winning the toss and electing to bat, Bengal progressed at a snail's pace. Sayan Mandal played 18 balls but couldn’t get off the mark, before he was dismissed by T. Natarajan. However, A. Eswaran (31) and Sudip Chatterjee gave the score some respectability before A Eswaran was sent off by Aswin Crist reducing Bengal to 51 for 2
Thereafter, Skippeer Manoj Tiwary and Sudip Chatterjee steadied the innings with a partnership of 111 runs, before Sudip (34) retired hurt due to a hamstring cramp.
But Manoj continued with Agniv Pan, before the third wicket fell at 162. Manoj Tiwary was out caught & bowled by R. Srinivas for 56 off 161 balls.
“It was a very slow track, much different than what it looked yesterday. They have also bowled well sticking to the basics. The ball was not coming to the bat and it was getting difficult to play shorts,” said Manoj Tiwary.
“We will be looking for a score of 350 plus on a surface like this. Tomorrow our plan will be to play carefully and not lose too many wickets early morning,” he added.
Asked about Sudip’s injury, “It’s just a hamstring cramp, nothing serious. I hope he will bat tomorrow,” he informed.
Among the bowlers, A. Crist, T. Natarajan and R. Srinivas took one wicket each.
At stumps Agniv Pan (51) and Shreevats Goswami (15) looked good.
In another match at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata, Maharashtra dominated the first day reaching 240 for 3, leading Vidarbha by 181 run, before dismissing them for a paltry total of 59.
Put to bat, wickets tumbled for Vidarbha in a heap as they were all out at a total of 59 before lunch.
  Coming on to bat, Maharashtra lost three quick wickets with only 59 runs on the board, before N. Shaikh (111) and A Bawane (75) took control over the situation to end the day in a comfortable position.
A. Sanklecha of Maharashtra remained the top bowler taking 7 for 25 in 11 overs.

Sayan Banerjee