Players Details

Fixture & Results


CAB hand over membership cards to women cricketers

16th September 2017
The Cricket Association of Bengal for the first time handed over honorary membership cards to eighteen women cricketers who represented India from Bengal at the club house here today at the Eden Garden, Kolkata.
On this occasion, CAB, Joint Secretary Avishek Dalmiya said, “It is an honor and privilege for the association to handover honorary membership to those women cricketers who made the Association proud.
Furthermore, in tune with the meeting we with Jhulan Goswami where we had decided to build a task force headed by CAB Vice President Sankar Nath Bagchi, we would be giving medical insurance to the women cricketers playing for Bengal at various levels as one of the first measures.
In addition, since we have decided to take a host of measures to promote women’s cricket, I am confident that we would be able to witness further growth of women’s cricket in the state in the days ahead."

Membership sub-committee chairman Pritwish Ghosh Chowdhury said, “For the first time, the Association has decided to hand over honorary membership to the women cricketers who have represented the country from the state. The Cricket Association of Bengal is committed to the cause of women’s cricket and this is a positive step towards it.”
“I am glad that women’s cricket is being given due prominence. We have also made arrangements with the KSCA (Karnataka State Cricket Association) for preparatory cum warm up matches to be played in Alur, Bengaluru, between 10th to 20th October before the start of the BCCI domestic tournaments. The warm up matches would include four one day matches and two T- 20 matches,” said CAB Vice President, Sankar Nath Bagchi.
Chairman, Women’s selection committee, former cricketer Mithu Mukherjee said, “This is the first time I have heard of a state body that has arranged for the handing over of honorary membership cards to women cricketers of Bengal who represented the country in international cricket and we thank CAB for such a brilliant step. This endeavour by CAB of uplifting the status of women’s cricket has been one of its kind and we would expect more of it in the years to come.”

The recipients:

Mrs. Sreerupa Mukherjee
Mrs. Keya Roy
Mrs. Runa Basu
Mrs. Gargi Banerjee
Mrs. Mithu Mukherjee
Mrs. Shyama Dey
Ms. Priyanaka Roy
Ms. Beas Sarkar
Ms. Sukanya Parida
Mrs. Ila Roy Choudhuri
Mrs. Sandhya Mukherjee
Ms. Sharmila Chakraborty
Mrs. Lopamudra Banerjee
Ms. Purnima Choudhuri
Ms. Jhulan Goswami
Ms. Rumeli Dhar
Ms. Archana Das
Ms. Chandana Mukherjee

Saptaswa Mukerjee