Players Details

Fixture & Results


CAB hosts Annual Award Ceremony in grand fashion

9th September 2023
In a glittering Annual Award Ceremony on Saturday, the Cricket Association of Bengal (CAB) handed the Karthik Bose Lifetime Achievement Awards to former Bengal cricketers Raju Mukherjee and Sharmila Chakraborty.
The sparkling ceremony, which was held for the first time at the gorgeous Dhana Dhanna auditorium, saw CAB President Snehasish Ganguly rendering some inspirational words for the Bengal cricketers.
"I would like to congratulate all the players and their club who have come out winners during the last season. But to those who have come second-best and to others, I would like to say that they must never give up, rather keep trying to come out victorious the next time. Never stop believing in yourself," Mr Ganguly said.
Alongside CAB President, Vice President Amalendu Biswas, Hony Secretary Naresh Ojha, Hony Joint Secretary Debrabrata Das and Treasurer Prabir Chakraborty was present.
Also present for the evening was West Bengal Minister of Sports and Youth Affairs Aroop Biswas. Mr Biswas during his speech pointed out that Cricket has surged ahead of Football as no. 1 sport in the state, thanks to the contribution and initiatives by CAB. He further added that Cricketers from Bengal are representing India in the national stage which is a proud moment for us.
Raju Mukherjee, who received the lifetime achievement award, was a right-handed batsman, playing 50 first-class matches. He also represented Bengal and captained the side. The Bengal legend declared to hand over his Rs 2 lakh cheque to the Groundsmen of Eden Gardens. He thanked CAB for their excellent work throughout the season.
Ms Sharmila Chakraborty, who also received the lifetime achievement award, was a right-handed batter and a left arm bowler. She also represented the Indian National Women's team in India's first Women's Test match against West Indies in 1976. She thanked the CAB for bestowing on her the prestigious award.
The winners who were awarded for their excellent performance on the field last season were - Sudip Kumar Gharami, who were awarded with the Cricketer of the Year Award while Anustup Majumdar was awarded the Gentleman Cricketer of the Year award.
Akash Deep won the Best Fast Bowler of the Year award. Ranjot Singh Khaira was given the Best Under-25 Cricketer of the Year award. Kaushik Maity was awarded with the Best Under-25 Bowler. Sumit Nag was named the Best Under-19 Cricketer of the Year, while Syed Irfan Aftab was awarded the Best Under-19 Bowler.
Yuvraj Deepak Keswani received the Highest Individual Performance award for being the highest Run Getter for Bengal in Col C.K. Nayudu Tournament.
Dhara Gujjar was awarded for being the Highest Run Getter for Bengal in the Senior Women's Tournament and T20 Meet. Mita Paul received the Award for the Highest Wicket Taker for Bengal in the Senior Women's Tournament.
Gouher Sultana & Sukanya Parida jointly received the award for being the Highest Wicket Taker for Bengal in Senior Women's T20 Meet while Muskan Sinha was awarded for being the Highest Run Getter in Women's U-19 Tournament.

Arindam Basu