Players Details

Fixture & Results


Shakir slams 157 as Mohun Bagan stun Bhowanipore to clinch P Sen Trophy

24th June 2023
Riding on a brilliant unbeaten 157 by Shakir Habib Gandhi, Mohun Bagan chased down a massive total to stun Bhowanipore Club by 1 wicket in the final and emerge champions in the P Sen Memorial Knockout Tournament at the Eden Gardens on Saturday.
Batting first, Bhowanipore Club posted a commanding 352/7 in 49 overs, thanks to Abhishek Raman (74) and Anushtup Majumdar (71) and Chirag Jani (60 not out off 42).
Sunil Dalal (3-60) was the pick of the bowlers for Mohun Bagan.
In reply, opener Shakir batted superbly as Mohun Bagan chased down the target, scoring 353/9 in 49 overs.
Rajkumal Pal bagged three wickets for Bhowanipore.
Earlier, put into bat, Bhowanipore lost opener Abhishek Ghosh (1) cheaply.
But Raman and Anushtup held the innings firmly as Bhowanipore crossed the 100-run mark.
After the dismissal of the duo, Chirag, Rishi Dhawan (41 off 28) and Jesal Karia (37 not out off 16) played superbly at the end to power Bhowanipore to a challenging total.
Chasing the target, Mohun Bagan were reduced to 88/3 inside 12 overs.
But Shakir played sensibly at the other end to keep Mohun Bagan in the chase.
Lalit Yadav (45) got off to a good start but failed to convert it into a big one.
But Shakir kept his cool till the end to help Mohun Bagan cross the line.

Arindam Basu