Players Details

Fixture & Results


Bengal bowl out Mizoram for 57, win by 9 wicket

12th November 2022
Bengal staged a remarkable comeback bowling out Mizoram for just 57 runs to win their Vijay Hazare Trophy Elite Group E clash by nine wickets in Ranchi on Sunday.
After an off day in office against Mumbai the other day, Bengal players stepped up and displayed their A-game to stay on course for the knockout rounds.
Electing to bat, Mizoram batsmen found it immensely tough to handle the talented Bengal bowlers as Pradipta Pramanik (4-2), Geet Puri (3-15), Mukesh Kumar (2-11) and Shahbaz Ahmed (1-18) bundled out the opposition in just 21.2 overs.
Chasing a low score, Ritwik Roy Chowdhury (26 not out) and Agniv Pan (25 not out) helped Bengal cross the line at ease scoring 59/1 in just 6.2 overs.
Earlier in the day, Bengal pacer Puri made the best use of the new ball dismissing openers Thanzuala (0) and Hruaizala (1) followed by Shreevats Goswami (4) in quick-succession to have Mizoram reeling at 10-3 inside four overs.
From there on, Mizoram looked to steady the ship, but Mukesh instead piled more misery on the opposition dismissing Taruwar Kohli (4) and Vikash Kumar (4) to have half their side back in the hut with 17 on the board after seven overs.
As wickets kept tumbling at the other end, Joseph Lalthankhuma managed to score a much-needed 21 runs but it was not enough for Mizoram. Bengal next take on Maharashtra in their third match on Tuesday.
In Kolkata (Elite Group B Matches) -Rajasthan (115/3 in 17.4 overs) beat Sikkim (110 all out in 42 overs) by seven wickets. Abhijeet Tomar top-scored for Rajasthan with an unbeaten 75.
- Jharkhand (166/2 in 35 overs) beat Assam (163 all out in 39.4 overs) by 8 wickets. Jharkhand's Utkarsh Singh (83 not out) and Vivel Tiwari (4-42) starred for the side.
- Delhi (219/2 in 32.2 overs) beat Meghalaya (216/7 in 50 overs) by 8 wickets. Himmat Singh scored a match-winning 85 for Delhi.
-Karnataka (314/7 in 50 overs) beat Vidarbha (248/9 in 50 overs) by 66 runs. Nikin Jose smashed 96 off 121 balls for Karnataka.

Arindam Basu