Players Details

Fixture & Results


Bengal lose Vijay Hazare opener

12th November 2022
Bengal went down to Mumbai by eight wickets in their opening match of the Vijay Hazare Trophy Elite Group E clash in Ranchi on Saturday.
Put into bat, the otherwise talented Bengal batting line-up were bowled out for 121 in 31.3 overs. Tanush Kotian (4-31), Tushar Deshpande (2-23) and Shams Mulani (2-14) impressed with the ball for Mumbai.
In reply, Mumbai (123/2) comfortably went over the line with 19.4 overs to spare.
Chasing a low score, Mumbai got off to a good start with openers Prithvi Shaw and Yashasvi Jaiswal. But Mukesh Kumar struck twice, first cleaning up Shaw (26 off 31) in the seventh over and a second time dismissing Jaiswal of just 10 in 33 balls to have Mumbai at 47/2 in the 14th over.
However, skipper Ajinkya Rahane (59 not out) and Hardik Tamore (18 not out) helped Mumbai cross the line.
Earlier, asked to bat, Bengal top order bat Writtick Chatterjee (1), captain Abhimanyu Easwaran (12) and Anustup Majumdar (9) failed, leaving the heavy pulling on incoming veteran batsmen Manoj Tiwary, who stood like a rock and showed some of his vintage touch scoring a much-needed 47 of 64 balls.
Bengal next face Mizoram in their second match on Sunday.
In Kolkata (Elite Group B matches): -Assam (271 all out in 46.5 overs) beat Rajasthan (128 all out in 33.3 overs) by 143 runs. Riyan Parag smashed 117 off just 84 balls for Assam.
-Jharkhand (309/3 in 50 overs) beat Sikkim (116 all out in 40.1 overs) by 193 runs. Virat Singh top scored for Jharkhand with 75 runs.
-Karnataka (259 all out in 50 overs) beat Meghalaya (144 all out in 46 overs). Shreyas Gopal (64) was the top-scorer for Karnataka.
-Delhi (208/5 in 44.5 overs) beat Vidarbha (207 all out in 47.2 overs) by 5 wickets. Ishant Sharma and Navdeep Saini claimed three wickets each for Delhi.

Arindam Basu