Players Details

Fixture & Results


Bengal finish with all win in T20 Zonal league
5th February 2017
Riding an accomplished 81 from Sreevats Goswami Bengal defeated Jharkhand by 5 wickets to maintain their all win record in the T20 Zonal League at the Eden gardens here today. Chasing 177 for victory Bengal reached 178 with five balls to spare.
It was a treat to watch Srevats Goswami. He came out and pulled Varun Aaron for successive boundaries and stepped up to hoik Sonu Singh over long off to motor along. His 81 runs came off 53 balls with nine boundaries and two sixes.
He paced his innings well as he kept himself busy between the wickets rotating strikes and making sure the scoreboard kept ticking despite the early loss of Wriddhiman Saha. He was ably supported by Abhishek Raman and Promod Chandila. By the time Goswami was taken by Rahul Shukla caught at extra cover by Pratyush Singh.
But 21 runs off the 16th over and 17 off the next over made sure that the match was within Bengal’s grip. Raman played a fine innings off 37 off 28 balls, while Pramod Chandila remained not out on 37 to etch Bengal’s victory.
Earlier, Jharkhand put up an imposing 177 for six wickets put into bat by Bengal. Some lusty hitting from Virat Singh and Saurabh Tiwary made sure Assam set Bengal with a challenging total. Virat scored a stylish 42 off 29 balls with nine hits to the fence and skipper Saurabh’s quick-fire 44 off 31 balls with two boundaries and three sixes gave their innings the necessary momentum.
Ashoke Dinda with two wickets for 28 runs was the only bowler to make an impression.

Arindam Basu