Players Details

Fixture & Results


India confident ahead of the WI T20 series

15th February 2022
Brimming with talent and infused with renewed vigour, Rohit Sharma’s Team India will look to begin their quest for the T20 World Cup some eight months away with this three-match home series against West Indies at the Eden Gardens here tomorrow.
Even in the absence of K L Rahul and Washington Sunder, India has a formidable side only if they can shake off the ghost of the last T20 World Cup when they were riddled by the opening puzzle, plagued by the middle-order muddle and all-rounder dichotomy.
If Rohit Sharma, a proven success in this format having lifted the IPL trophy for Mumbai Indians on multiple occasions, can put together a winning squad then it will be a rollicking start at Eden Gardens tomorrow.
Rohit Sharma could settle for either Ishan Kishan or Rishabh Pant as his opening partner, with Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kr Yadav and Ruturaj Gaikwad giving him enough artillery to fire on all cylinders. In, Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Yuzevendra Chahal, Bhuvaneshwar Kumar and Harshal Patel the all-rounder and bowling department looked sorted.
The Eden wicket promises to be full of runs while there will be carry and bounce for the bowlers willing to bend their back. The toss would not matter much in the night match as the dew factor would even out.
Meanwhile, the West Indies side have been formidable in the shortest format of the game. The recent success against England have emboldened this side that has an equal blend of experience and youth.
With Kieron Pollard, Nicholas Pooran, Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo in the ranks, and Jason Holder, Shelldon Cottrell and Shai Hope showing prodigious talents the Caribbean side would be a tough opponent any day.
India Squad for T20 series: Rohit Sharma (captain), Ruturaj Gaikwad, Ishan Kishan, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Surya Kumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant (vc-wc), Venkatesh Iyer, Deepak Chahar, Shardul Thakur, Ravi Bishnoi, Axar Patel, Yuzvendra Chahal, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohd. Siraj, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Harshal Patel.
West Indies squad for T20 series: Kieron Pollard (captain), Nicholas Pooran (vice-captain), Fabian Allen, Darren Bravo, Roston Chase, Sheldon Cottrell, Dominic Drakes, Jason Holder, Shai Hope, Akeal Hosein, Brandon King, Rovman Powell, Romario Shepherd, Odean Smith, Kyle Mayers, Hayden Walsh Jr.

Rio Dutta