Players Details

Fixture & Results


Bengal off to winning start

4th November 2021
A dominating show by the bowlers followed by skipper Sudip Chatterjee's unbeaten half-century ensured Bengal a winning start to the Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy campaign defeating Chhattisgarh by 7 wickets today at Guwahati.
Put to bat first Chhattisgarh could only manage 118/7 in their quota of overs. While chasing skipper Sudip opening the innings with Abhishek Das (17) ensured victory for Bengal by staying till the end.
Bengal skipper Sudip said: "It feels good to start the tournament on a good note. We have played well as a team that's what important, we have done well in both departments. We are approaching in one match at a time manner, now our aim is to do good in next match."
"Our bowlers did a wonderful job. Spinners chocked the run flow and helped us restrict opponents to a low total," he added.
Wriddhiman Saha added 24 runs while Kaif Ahamed stayed unbeaten on 12 till the end.
Earlier Akash Deep drew the first blood removing Shashank Chandrakar on 6 while Writtick Chatterjee, Karan Lal and Shahbaz Ahamed took wickets in regular intervals to dismantle Chhattisgarh to 51/5.
A Herwadkar fought a lone battle with 73 off 60 balls while wickets kept falling at the other end. Mukesh Kumar bagged 2 wickets in the last over including Herwadkar to restrict Chhattisgarh to a low total.

Rio Dutta