Players Details

Fixture & Results


Bagan win derby to enter One Day final

24th April 2021
Mohun Bagan rode on Vivek Singh and Abhimanyu Easwaran half-centuries to beat their arch rivals East Bengal in a high-voltage CAB First Division One Day tournament semifinal today at JU Second Campus ground.
Electing to bat first East Bengal batters did a decent job to post a fighting total of 278/8 while Bagan won the match by 3 wickets as they finished on 280/7 to successfully avenge their JC Mukherjee semifinal loss which was also a Kolkata derby.
Earlier EB openers Ranjot Singh Khaira and Ankur Paul stiched a 108-run opening partnership to ensure a good start. Ankur played a quickfire 68-ball 72 with 10 boundaries and 1 six till Sayan Ghosh got Bagan their first breakthrough.
Saurabh Singh did a good job with the bat scoring a fluent 51 and just when EB were looking at another 100-run partnership Bagan bowler Sourav Mondal removed him and next EB batter Subham Chatterjee in the same over to leave opponents reeling.
After that set batsman Ranjot left scoring 68 off Tuhin Banerjee and EB did not see another big partnership to take them over 300.
Bagan bowlers kept asking next EB batters uncomfortable questions as Sourav bagged 3, Sayan and Tuhin picked up 2 wickets apiece. EB skipper Arnab Nandi added crucial 29 runs along with keeper Bidyut Adhikari's 20 to take it to 278/8.
While chasing Bagan openers Vivek Singh and Abhimanyu Easwaran started in fluent fashion by adding 126 runs off the opening partnership.
Shreyan Chakroborty broke the partnership by sending Easwaran back on 55 and Vivek (68) too went back in the next over after being caught by B Amit off Arnab Nandi.
Anustup Majumdar (15) too became Shreyan's victim after a steady start while Sudip Chatterjee showed grit by scoring fluent 47 and continue the momentum.
Bagan middle order performed well with the bat as Writtick Chatterjee (20), Jayojit Basu (18), Jesal Khaira (16*) and Rajkumar Pal (23) added quick runs to help Bagan win the game to face Bhowanipur in final. EB skipper Arnab bagged 3 wickets for 36 runs.

Rio Dutta