Players Details

Fixture & Results


Sachin to sign certificates on Frank Worrell Day

31st January 2018
Master Blaster Sachin Tendulkar will be the guest signatory for the certificates given on the occasion of Frank Worrell Day to be observed on February 3 at the CAB Club House.
This will mark the 38th year of the blood donation camp organised in succession by the CAB at the clubhouse on the occasion of its Foundation Day in collaboration with the Association For Voluntary Blood Doners' who will this year come equipped with the collection capacity of 1200 units.
The donation will take place from 9 am to 6pm and those who donate blood will get a certificate sigbed by none other than Sachin Tendulkar and a CAB batch.
Speaking on the occasion of announcement of the date, CAB Jt Secretary Avishek Dalmiya said: "Cricket is about fostering the spirit of brotherhood and is about social welfare. We have been organising this from 1981 without a break and we are very happy and proud that the people respond overwhelmingly. We at CAB believe we have a social responsibility and never shy away from that."
He also said that a cultural programme featuring the popular band Chandrabindoo will take place from 11.30 am as will a criclet match between CAB President's XI versus Chairman, Board of Trustees XI.
CAB President Sourav Ganguly will lead the President's XI.
In 1962 Nari Contractor, the captain of the Indian touring team to West Indies, was hit on the hea by a Charlie Griffith bouncer.Blood was needed. Led by Sir Frank Worrell players of both the teams lined up to donate blood. And a life was saved.
It is in remembrance of this humanitarian act that CAB began organising this voluntary blood donation camp on its Foundation Day since 1981 to spread the message of blood donation. 39 greats from the world of cricket lend their signature to the donation certificates as a recognition of the cause. The first year the certificates were signed by Mr Nari Contractor himself. Others included Sir Don Bradman, Ian Botham, Imran Khan, Sunil Gavaskar, Sourav Ganguly juatbto name a few.

Arindam Basu