Players Details

Fixture & Results


Bengal win big, but…

24th January 2018
Bengal beat TN by by 7 wickets with 22 balls to spare to notch up their second win of the Super League stage of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy at the Jadavpur Campus here today.
Bengal lost Shreevats to the first ball of the innings making the situation tricky for Bengal. Vivek Singh also departed after a 21 off 17 balls. This further complicated the plot.
It was left to the Chatterjee duo of Sudip and Writtick to guide Bengal to victory. They batted with composure and showed good temperament first weathering in the stormy start made by TN and then counterpunched their way towards a win that comes a little too late for the hosts as irrespective of the result their chances of playing the final remains wafer thin.
Sudip hit a classy unbeaten 51 off 46 balls building the innings, while Writtick kept rotating the strike making sure that the scorers remained busy. Writtick made a classy 44 off 32 balls to take Bengal to the verge of their second win. Manoj Tiwary came to bat hit a six and that was that.
But despite the win the match between Delhi and UP tomorrow will decide the team progressing from the group as both have already won two matches and need another win to make it to final.
Bengal began the last league tie in right earnest chipping away at Tamil Nadu batters at regular intervals. Kanishk Seth continued his rich vein of form as he returned the openers cheaply to peg back Tamil Nadu.
The first to depart was Bharat Shankar as he cut uppishly to the point region to begin his long walk back. Baba Aparajith did not last long either caught at short cover by skipper Manoj Tiwary. Kanishk’s fruitful opening spell bore more fruits as Washington Sunder who had now settled down to a fine 22 off 17 balls edged one to Shreevats to put TN in real muck.
Manoj resorted to a double spin attack bringing Amir Goni from the Rajarhat end and himself from the dressing room end. The move worked wonderfully for Bengal as stifled for runs the batsmen tried to force the field, resulting in Jagadeesan playing all over a Goni delivery that was pitched well up to be clean bowled. Manoj, who with his new bowling action has now got into the act of picking wickets every now and then, came in to remove Sanjay Yadav, who played for spin and saw the trajectory straighten up on him. Anustup took a simple catch to complete the formalities.
As TN trudged along at a pedestrian pace they were further mauled by Sayan Ghosh in the 19th iver who returned M Ashwin and Aniruda to ensure that TN total remained at a modest 129 for 9.

Uttar Pradesh V Baroda
A 160 run second wicket partnership between Umang Sharma and skipper Suresh Raina helped Uttar Pradesh overcome Baroda’s challenging 192 for three at Jadavpur University campus in a Group B tie of the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.
Umang scored a fluent 95 off 47, while Suresh Raina hit 56 off the same number of balls as Uttar Pradesh beat Baroda by 7 wickets. With this win UP now has 8 points from 3 matches and are currently the Group B toppers based on their good run rate. Delhi has dropped to the second spot. Both Delhi and UP will not only need to win their last match on Thursday but also better their run rate.
Chasing 193 runs for victory UP lost their first wicket in the very first ball off Krunal Pandya. But that was the only time Baroda could celebrate as Umang and Raina tore apart the opposition to secure victory in 18.4 overs. Umang’s innings was laced with 10 fours and 5 sixes.
However, Umang and Raina were sent back at the fag-end of UP’s run chase before Rinku Singh (26*) and Akshdeep Nath achieved the target.
Earlier, put in to bat Baroda got off to a good start with Kedar Devdhar (37) and Urvil Patel scored 74 in 10 overs before Devdhar was sent back by left-arm pacer Mohsin Khan.
Urvil (96) played an outstanding knock along with skipper Deepak Hooda (45) to help Baroda post 192 in 20 overs.

Arindam Basu