Players Details

Fixture & Results


Baroda end Bengal’s winning run

21st January 2018
In the four matches played in the Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy Super League section, Punjab and Mumbai posted wins in the Group A matches while Delhi and Baroda crossed the winning line in the Group B tie.
Group B

Bengal v Baroda

Baroda drew curtains on Bengal’s unbeaten 11 win feat at Eden Gardens in the shortest format of the game. Chasing Baroda’s 149 Bengal were all out for 132 losing by 17 runs.
Bengal innings was built around Sreevats Goswami as he paced his innings brilliantly. Wickets continued to tumble around him but he kept his focus and played a steady hand trading in singles and twos and building his innings on timely boundaries. He reached his 50 off 35 balls as he placed Krunal Pandya behind point for single. He was run out for 58 to a silly misunderstanding with Chandila. With him gone Bengal’s last hopes were doused.
Bengal made an edgy start to their run chase losing opener Vivek Singh, who was living dangerously, was caught awkwardly jabbing at a Meriwala delivery to return for 14. The very next ball Meriwala produced one that jagged back off the pitch to catch inform batsman Sudip Chatterjee plumb first ball he faced. At 27 for 2 Bengal had their work cut out. Manoj Tiwary began on a flourish but he flattered to deceive. At 12 he was claimed by Meriwala playing half-cock within the crease and was caught lbw.
Bengal lost the 4th wicket immediately after the lemon break. The first ball of Krunal Pandya looked harmless enough till Anustup Majumdar missed its line and was caught leg before for 11. Bengal was in a spot of bother at 76 for 4. 12 runs later Krunal got his second of the match as he foxed Writtick Chatterjee to a delivery that stood up on him to be caught at mid-wicket boundary.
Baroda won the toss and elected to bat a decision that that was vindicated as they posted a fighting 149 runs. The Bengal bowlers showed variety and skill as they immediately pegged back the opposition with some fine bowling. The pace quartet kept the Baroda batters on tenterhook as they kept chipping away at regular intervals.
Ashoke Dinda and Kanishk Seth bagged two early wickets of D Mistry and K Devdhar respectively to set the tone of the match. Then Sayan Ghosh stepped up to claim 3 wickets, including two at the business end of the innings, to pull brakes on the scoring. Manoj Tiwary, armed with a new action and burgeoning confidence, bowled two overs to claim two wickets.

Delhi v Tamil Nadu

Delhi gave Tamil Nadu a thumping at the Eden Gardens in another Group B tie defeating them by 8 wickets.
Winning the toss Delhi elected to field and used all help from the wicket to skittle out TN to 145 for 7 with Kulwant Khejrolia taking 4 wickets for Delhi. It was only a late assault by Baba Aparajith 45 off 32 balls and Vijay Shankar 57 off 48 that gave TN total some teeth.
Delhi began the chase in right earnest with Gautam Gambhir (21) and Rishab Pant (58) giving them the perfect start. Thereafter, Dhruv Shorey 28 not out and Nitish Rana 34 not out saw them reach 146 in 15.2 overs. Delhi always looked in control of the game and Rishab Pant showed regal form along with hard hitting Nitish Rana who never gave TN bowlers a chance to settle down

Group A

Punjab v Karnataka

The first match of the super league stage of Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy finished with Punjab beating Karnataka via the one over eliminator. Punjab finished in a super over with 15 runs (2, 6, 1, 4, 1,1) while Karnataka made 11 losing Karun Nair to the last ball (4, 1, 1, 3, 1, 1, W).
Earlier, aided by some brilliant bowling by Karnataka's Arvind Sreenath who picked 4 for 32 and Pravin Dubey 2 for 12, Punjab give away a facile run chase and finished at 158 for 9 chasing Karnataka's identical score for 7 wickets.
It was a case of old is gold for Punjab as Yuvraj Singh pulled off three catches, that included a stunner, and then notched up 29 runs, while Harbhajan Singh came up the order and hit a breathneck 33 to set up the Punjab chase before they collapsed. Earlier, Karnataka, put into bat, posted 158 with Aniruddha top scoring with 40 and CM Gautam scoring 36.

Mumbai v Jharkhand

A fine 67 run fourth wicket partnership between Siddesh Lad (46) and Aditya Tare (45) and a 51 run partnership for the sixth wicket between Shivam Dubey (20) and Surya Kumar Yadav (33), both of whom remained not not, Mumbai posted a fighting 170 for 5 against Jharkhand after being put to bat by the opposition.
In reply Jharkhand reached 157 for 7 losing by 13 runs. A fine 81 off 49 balls by Virat Singh and a run a ball 32 by Saurabh Tiwary were not enough as Jharkhand kept losing wickets and momentum regulary.

Arindam Basu