Communicate

Players Details

Fixture & Results

Archive

Perera's second thought


19th November 2017
Last ball of 57th Over, Shami apparently trapped Dilruwan Perera in front of the wicket and Nigel Long had no hesitation in raising the finger. Perera turned his back and started walking off. As the Men in Blue were celebrating, the all-rounder may or may not have looked at the dressing room but returned to the crease and asked for DRS. The umpire had to overturn the decision as the impact was outside off and Perera survived.
However, the TV commentators sparked a controversy of breaching the ICC rule. According to ICC Decision Review System clause 3.2 section C, “If the umpires believe that the captain or batsman has received direct or indirect input emanating other than from the players on the field, then they may at their discretion decline the request for a Player Review. In particular, signals from the dressing room must not be given.” The video footage showed Perera looking towards the dressing room before seeking DRS. But there is no confirmation whether he really had any help from that end. However, the incident certainly brought back the “Brainfade” memories of Steven Smith.


CAB MEDIA DESK
Ayan Das