Players Details

Fixture & Results


East Bengal lift P. Sen Trophy beating Barisha

5th July 2017
East Bengal beat Barisha by 3 wickets to lift the P. Sen Memorial Trophy today here at the Eden Gardens, Kolkata.
Chasing Barisha’s 280 for 8 in 50 overs, East Bengal managed to reach 251 for 7 in 46 overs, when the play was stopped due to bad light. However, Barisha was penalized for slow over rating that awarded East Bengal 43 runs more to the total, leading to the victory.
For, East Bengal Sourav Mondal remained the highest wicket taker with 4 for 57. He was backed by skipper Arnab Nandi’s 3 for 45.
"We were confident about the strong batting unit we have. We knew if one fails the other can take the responsibility. 280 was a difficult score to chase in final, over that the conditions were overcast, but we knew the depth in batting we have so we had planned to bat for 50 overs,” said East Bengal skipper Arnab Nandi.
About ending the season with a commendable performance with few major trophy under their belt, Arnab said, “The main mantra about this team was we played as a team. It was not something made by any individual brilliance. Still I would like to mention one name whose contribution was immensely important and he is B. Amit. He has done a great job for East Bengal this season.”