Players Details

Fixture & Results


CAB honours war heroes

28th April 2017
In a rare gesture the Cricket Association of Bengal named four stands at Eden Gardens after war heroes today ahead of the Kolkata Knight Riders and Delhi Daredevils match of Indian Premier League.
The stands were unveiled by CAB President Sourav Ganguly, Lieutenant General Praveen Bakshi, PVSM, AVSM, VSM, ADC General Officer Commanding-in-chief Eastern Army Command and other military and CAB dignitaries.
The stands were named after Colonel N J Nair who was ambushed by 100 armed insurgents while negotiating a series of road bends on the Mokokchung-Mariani Road in Nagaland. He was awarded Ashok Chakra and Kirti Chakra posthumously. Lieutenant General Praveen Bakshi, Eastern Army Commander, unveiled the name.
Next CAB President Sourav Ganguly unveiled the name of Havildar Hangpan Dada, who encountered terrorists in Naugam in Jammu and Kashmir on the stand. He was awarded Ashok Chakra posthumously.
Two other stands were named after Subedar Joginder Singh and Lieutenant Colonel Dhan Singh Thapa.
Subedar Singh, who refused to evacuate despite being injured and held on a defensive position in NEFA, was awarded Param Vir Chakra posthumously. His name was unveiled by Chief of Staff, Head Quarters Eastern Army command Lieutenant General Dushyant Singh and CAB Honourary Jt Secretary Subir Ganguly.
Colonel Thapa led an offensive against the Chinese in Ladakh and was also awarded highest wartime gallantry medal Param Vir Chakra. His name was unveiled by General Officer Commanding, Bengal Area Lieutenant General Giriraj Singh and CAB Honourary Jt Secretary Avishek Dalmiya.