Players Details

Fixture & Results


Good bowling not enough for Bengal
20th March 2017
A good bowling display by MD Shami and Ashoke Dinda, that bundled Tamil Nadu at 217 within 47.2 overs, did not prove enough for Bengal to win the Vijay Hazare Trophy at Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium today in New Delhi. Chasing Tamil Nadu’s 217, Bengal folded for 180 within 45.5 overs.
Put to field, Bengal won early hours of the day, reducing opposition to 49 for 4 in 10.3 overs, before Dinesh Karthik (112) fought back with runs to provide Tamil Nadu a fighting total of 217 in 47.2 overs. MD Shami remained the highest wicket taker with 4 for 26, backed by Ashoke Dinda’s 3 for 36.
Thereafter, coming out to bat, Bengal lost the plot in early hours, getting reduced to 68 for 4 in 20.5 overs, with skipper Manoj Tiwary walking back to the pavilion, bowled by Vijay Shankat at 32 off 46 balls.
However, a 68 runs partnership between Sudip Chatterjee (58) and Anustup Majumder (24) gave Bengal a ray of hope, but with the dismissal of the duo in successive intervals, put seal to Bengal's 37 runs defeat in the match.
Dinesh Karthik was awarded the man of the match for his excellent 112 off 120 balls.