Players Details

Fixture & Results


Smashing Bengal enters Vijay Hazare quarters
4th March 2017
Manoj Tiwary’s Bengal continued to display impeccable form in this edition of Vijay Hazare Trophy overcoming Madhya Pradesh’s challenge by 14 runs in a Group C match in Chennai. Five back-to-back victories have also ensured Bengal a place in the quarter finals, which begin on March 13. Undefeated with 20 points, Bengal sit at the top of the group standings. It was an all-round show from Bengal at the Guru Nanak College Ground.
Winning the toss and batting first, Bengal totalled a handsome 270 for eight in the allotted 50 overs. Sudip Chatterjee was once again in rich form, playing an innings of 91, with the help of eight boundaries and two sixes. Manoj too played his part with the bat, making 59 off 73 balls.
Madhya Pradesh looked well-placed in their chase, but some good bowling by Bengal in the last 10 overs ruined their plans. Harpreet Singh led the Madhya Pradesh chase with a century. However, the others didn’t manage any significant contribution, with Sohraab Dhaliwal being the next best scorer with 37.
Among the Bengal bowlers, pacer Sayan Ghosh took three wickets, while Kanishk Seth picked up two. “One match at a time… Our focus is on our last group league match, against Gujarat. They are a good team, but we will try to make it six out of six. That’s our immediate aim,” Manoj said.
“The good thing is everybody is chipping in. Be it the batsmen or the bowlers, everyone is doing his job nicely. Also, our fielding has been top class. We just hope to carry on with this winning momentum,” he added.
“We have a pleasant dressing room, where we feel happy for each other’s success. The communication between the players and the team management has been very clear. Every player knows why he is playing or why he is not,” he signed off.

Arindam Basu