Players Details

Fixture & Results


Bengal makes it three in three
1st March 2017
Riding a prodigal 85 not out by Sudip Chaterjee Bengal overcame Rajasthan’s challenging 274 run target to make it three wins out of three in the Group C match of Vijay Hazare Trophy in Chennai.
Bengal won the toss and elected to field, as they have successfully chased in the last two games. The decision looked to have backfired initially with Rajasthan came out all guns blazing reaching 203 for five in 43.5 overs.
Dishant Yagnik scored a brilliant ton before being removed by Manoj Tiwary. But what followed next was a middle order collapse as rookie pacer Kanishk Seth took four wickets removing Arijit Gupta (3), Mahipal Lomror (18), Kamlesh Nagarkoti (7) and Tajinder Singh (3).
Bengal suffered a mini collapse of their own with Manoj Tiwary (1), Anustup Majumdar (12), Pramod Chandila (4) and Pankaj Shaw (2) going back quickly, however the robust top order helped them through with Sreevats scoring 47, Abhimanyu Easwaran (79) and Sudip not out 85.
Sudip showed great maturity in face of the collapse as he held his end and kept rotating strike with the lower order to take Benngal home. The need of the hour was matured patient cricket showing good skills and understanding of the game situation and Sudip did exactly that. Bengal reached 275 for eight with six balls to spare.

Arindam Basu